





Birth of EPOS

During a meeting organized at the end of 1980 by Dean MacEwen in Wilmington, Delaware, Henri Bensahel (Paris, FR) had the idea of creating a group of European Paediatric Orthopaedic surgeons with Jürg Baumann (Basel, CH), José Mesquita Montes (Porto, PT), and Dietrich Tönnis (Dortmund, DE).

Then, Henri Bensahel contacted John Sharrard (Sheffield, GB) to enlarge the group, and as soon as the 31st of January 1981, the five surgeons and friends met together for the first time at Hôpital Bretonneau, Paris. The decision to create a Society was taken. The statutes were published in the "Journal Officiel de la République Française" in French, on the 30th of March 1982.

30 mars 1982. Déclaration à la préfecture de police. European Pediatric Orthopedic Society (Société européenne d'orthopédie pédiatrique). Objet: promotion scientifique de l'orthopédie pédiatrique à l'échelon européen. Siège social: département d'orthopédie pédiatrique, hôpital Bretonneau, 2, rue Carpeaux, 75018 Paris.

"Active (or full) members: they are chosen by co-optation and invitation, and must practice and reside in one of the European countries."

Statutes, Art.III, section 2
Original EPOS logo





1st meeting, 1982, Paris. From left to right Rear row: J. Lefort (FR), S. Dal Monte (IT), G. Soncini (IT), M. Ferrer Torrelos (ES), D. Pajić (YU) Middle row: J. Mesquita Montes (PT), P. Klisić (YU), J. Reimers (DK)

Front row: J. Baumann (CH), D. Tönnis (DE), J. Sharrard (GB), H. Bensahel (FR), K. Parsch (DE) Coll. K. Parsch

The first Executive Board

The officers of the EPOS executive board:

- John SHARRARD (1921-2001), President 1982-85
- Predrag KLISIĆ (1921-1995), Vice-President 1983-85, and then $2^{\rm nd}$ President 1985-87
- Henri BENSAHEL (1928-2009), General Secretary 1982-87, and then 4th President1989-91:
- Dietrich TÖNNIS (1927-2010), treasurer 1983-87. At that time, he had to convert all European currencies which existed before the Euros.









All were awarded Honorary Membership and received the Pro Maximis Meritis award.

<u>The four advisors</u>: R. Bauer (Austria), Jürg Bauman (CH), Alessandro Dal Monte (IT) 3rd President 1987-89, and Jorge Reimers (DK) 5th President 1991-93.

The first Annual Meetings

- Henri Bensahel organized the 1st official Annual Meeting in Paris on 13th March 1982 at Hôpital Bretonneau with 13 invited surgeons coming from 9 European countries.
- He organized also the 2nd Meeting in Paris on the 19th of March 1983, with 20 surgeons.
- The 3rd meeting was organized by Jürg Baumann at the Kinderspital, Basel, Switzerland, on the 24th of March 1984 with 31 participants coming from 15 countries.
- The 4th meeting was chaired by Alessandro Dal Monte at the Rizzoli Institute, Bologna, Italy, on the 16th of March 1985. Twenty free papers were presented with wide discussion. For the first time, a North American colleague, J. Bright, took part in an EPOS meeting.

The first EPOS Seminars

- October 1987 in Bologna with A. Dal Monte
- 2nd Seminar in October 1989 in Stuttgart with K.
 Parsch. The topic was "Pitfalls and Errors in Paediatric Orthopaedics and Trauma"